Board of Education

Board of Education

 Left to Right:  Kathy Jo Minnick;  Charles Frisbie;  John Cheresnowsky, Treasurer;  Lisa Braund;  Lonnie Stethers, Vice-President;  John Johnson, President;  Jamie Westbrook;  Kevin Rude;  Not pictured:  Christopher Jones 

Not Pictured:  Pat Barrett, Solicitor;  Nancy Russell, Secretary (non-member)
The Athens Area School District is divided into three regions. There are nine school board directors, three from each region, who are elected for terms of four years.  The Board of Directors represents the community by developing policies, budgets and having a vision for the future of the school district.

The Board meets on the second and third Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise noted.  Please see Board Meeting Dates for locations.  Special meetings are scheduled as needed.  Any special or emergency meeting would be advertised at least one day prior to the meeting in The Morning Times.  If a change is made to the schedule, a notice will be posted on the front entrance of the respective school building and the Administration Office door.  Meetings are open to the public.

The first and second meeting of the month members meet in groups as Committees as designated on the Board Meeting Dates.  The Board divides its committee work into groups as follows:

Group # 1 – Finance & Operations
Group # 2 – Personnel & Policy
Group #3 – Curriculum, Instruction & Technology
Group #4 – Extra Curricular Activities
Group #5 – Negotiations

PSBA Liaison - Lonnie Stethers

Intermediate Unit #17 Advisory Board - Lonnie Stethers

Northern Tier Career Center Advisory Board - Kathy Jo Minnick

For information regarding board policies or meeting dates/times/locations, please contact School Board Secretary, Nancy Russell at (570) 888-7766 Ext. 4347.
Contact Board of Education
Your Name:
Your Email:

To validate your submission, please type the answer to the following question:

captcha question
© 2020. Athens Area School District. All Rights Reserved.